Writing and Literature
Indicates MyUnion Id and password required to access resource
Library Databases & Resources
Writing & Literary Databases
General Databases
Reference Resources
Book Reviews
Newspapers
Dissertations & Theses
Online Reference Resources
Your first stop for basic information on a subject
Writer's Resource Center A website that offers access to essays about writing, well over 100 articles, a job center, a freelancer's center and the most recent addition, education about money.
Critical Reading: A Guide From Brock University, a basic guide for undergraduates outlining methods to analyze and interpret poetry and fiction.
The Cambridge History of English and American Literature Considered the most important work of literary history and criticism ever published, it contains essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing.
Literature & Language Arts @ Learner.org Multimedia, video, and interactive guides by subject and organized by learner grade level (K-12, College).
Awards and Medals
Web Resources
Here are some basic sites to find relevant information. Government and educational sites are the most reliable sites. Check out the Evaluating Resources page for how to find reliable websites.
American Verse Project An electronic archive of volumes of American poetry. Most of the archive is made up of 19th century poetry, although a few 18th century and early 20th century texts are included.
Internet Public Library: Literary Criticism This site contains links to 1500+ critical and biographical Web sites about British and American authors from the middle ages to the present.
Litlinks Lists annotated resources available on the Internet about essays, poems, fiction, and drama.
Bartleby.com is comprised of a body of electronic versions of classic texts, including literature, nonfiction, and reference works.
The Literary Gothic is a guide to all things concerned with literary Gothicism, which includes ghost stories, "classic" Gothic novels and Gothic fiction (1764-1820), and related pre- and post-Gothic and supernaturalist literature.
Associations
Modern Language Association (MLA) A non-profit organization that promotes the study and teaching of language and literature.
The Association of Writers and Writing Programs fosters literary talent and achievement to advance the art of writing as essential to a good education, and to serve the makers, teachers, students, and readers of contemporary writing.
National Endowment for the Humanities: The homepage for this federal agency features information about grant opportunites for history, philosophy, literature, and other humanities fields.
National Writers' Union: Website for the trade union for freelance writers of all genres publishing in U.S. markets.
Historical Novel Society: Promotes all aspects of historical fiction, supports opportunities for new writers, provides information for students, booksellers, and librarians, and provides a community for authors, readers, agents, and publishers.
Comments (0)
You don't have permission to comment on this page.