garylibguides

 

Women's and Gender Studies

Page history last edited by Library 2 wks ago

 

 

Women's & Gender Studies 

 

 

Library Databases & Resources

 

Women's and Gender Studies Databases

General Databases

Reference Resources

Book Reviews

Newspapers

Dissertations & Theses

 

 

 

Online Reference Resources

 

Gender-Inn A searchable database providing access to over 8300 records pertaining to feminist theory, feminist literary criticism and gender studies focusing on English and American literature. 

 

GLBTQ An encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexuals, transgender and queer culture.  

 

 

 

Web Resources

Here are some basic sites to find relevant information. Government and educational sites are the most reliable sites. Check out the Evaluating Resources page for how to find reliable websites. 

 

Women's Studies/Women's Issues Resource Sites A selective, annotated web site containing resources and information about women's studies/women's issues with emphasis on sites of use to an academic women's studies program.

 

Queer Resources Directory "QRD is an electronic library with news clippings, political contact information, newsletters, essays, images, hyperlinks, and every other kind of information resource of interest to the GLBO community." 

 

Bisexual Resource Center An international organization providing education about and support for bisexual and progressive issues

 

American Memory - Women's History The Library of Congress offers digital research collections and resources through this site. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America. 

 

Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement An online archive of documents from Duke University pertaining to the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States during the 1960s and 1970s. 

 

Feminist Theory Website Created by Kristin Switala, a professor of Philosophy at the University of Tennessee-Chattanooga, this site is comprised of three sections: fields of study, national/cultural feminisms, and individual feminists. The site is available in English, French, and Spanish. 

 

University at Albany Women’s Studies An extensive collection of websites and resources focused on women’s studies. 

 

WSSLINKS:women and gender studies web sites is one of the best available gateways to web resources and is maintained by the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries.

  

Feminist.com is a thriving online community fostering awareness, education and activism for women all across the world.  

 

WWWomen An Internet search engine on women's information, including many categories of additional sites, self described as "the premier search directory for women online."  

 

 

Associations 

 

Feminist Majority Foundation An organization promoting social, economic, and political equality for women. 

 

The National Organization for Women (NOW) Includes information on key issues, news, NOW chapters, and NOW Political Action Committees (PAC's). 

 

The National Women's Studies Association leads the field of women’s studies in educational and social transformation. 

 

The Gender and Education Association (GEA) has been set up to represent those with feminist interests in gender and education.

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.