Visual Arts
Library Databases & Resources
Art Databases
General Databases
Reference Resources
Book Reviews
Newspapers
Dissertations & Theses
Online Reference Resources
Your first stop for basic information on a subject
Internet Public Library: Visual arts links
Dictionary of Art Historians: Biographical dictionary of art historians, museum directors, and scholars of art; indexes art historians from major art historiographies (bibliography included).
The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Timeline of Art History A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world.
Artcyclopedia: The Guide to Museum-Quality Art on the Internet Collection of exhibits and museums worldwide; site is searchable by artist.
ArtLex Find definitions for more than 3,600 terms used in discussing art / visual culture, along with thousands of supporting images, pronunciation notes, great quotations and cross-references.
Arts @ Learner.org Multimedia, video, and interactive guides by subject and organized by learner grade level (K-12, College).
Web Resources
Here are some basic sites to find relevant information. Government and educational sites are the most reliable sites. Check out the Evaluating Resources page for how to find reliable websites.
Musuem of Modern Art
ArtServe Visual history of art and architecture.
ArtSource A portal for selective Internet resourses for Art and Architecture.
Voices of the Shuttle Links to web resources dealing with art, art history, design, academic programs, and much more.
AskART Extensive directory of information about American Artists; also contains directories of museums, dealers, professional organizations and indexes artists by categories of interest.
J. Paul Getty Trust provides access to all departments of the Getty Center, including the Museum, Research Institute, Conservation Institute, Grant Program, and Leadership Institute
Web Gallery of Art A collection of over 13,500 digital reproductions of European painting and sculptures spanning from 1150 until 1800, many with commentary.
Associations
Comments (0)
You don't have permission to comment on this page.