Health and Wellness
Library Databases & Resources
Health & Medicine Databases
General Databases
Reference Resources
Book Reviews
Newspapers
Dissertations & Theses
Online Reference Resources
Your first stop for basic information on a subject
National Library of Medicine (Entrez, Life Sciences Search Engine)
Healthfinder is produced by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, in the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services and offers an A-Z listing of health topics, a directory of organizations, a drug database, and weekly newsletters on a variety of subjects.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) The nation's principal health statistics agency lists a large group of vital statistics. This includes birth, mortality and fetal death data, data on marriages and divorces, a national survey of family growth and a national death index.
Medical Encyclopedia: Encyclopedia of consumer health information on disease, injury, nutrition, poison, special topics, surgery, symptoms, and tests from the National Library of Medicine.
Grey's Anatomy of the Human Body: Electronic version of the 1918 publication with illustrations from the Bartleby.com site.
Science @ Learner.org Multimedia, video, and interactive guides by subject and organized by learner grade level (K-12, College).
Web Resources
Here are some basic sites to find relevant information. Government and educational sites are the most reliable sites. Check out the Evaluating Resources page for how to find reliable websites.
Centers for Disease Control Extensive listing of health topics, including an alphabetic listing of information on diseases and condition with news, podcasts, and statistics.
Health A to Z
Searchable index of health-related sites.
HealthWeb
Resources collected by the health science librarians of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation.
Medical Matrix
Major collection of medical information by specialty and topic.
WebMD Health
Requires a free registration. It is a primary public portal created for consumers to help them take an active role in managing their health by providing objective healthcare and lifestyle information.
Associations
Comments (0)
You don't have permission to comment on this page.