Children's Literature
Library Databases & Resources
Writing & Literary Databases
General Databases
Reference Resources
Book Reviews
Newspapers
Dissertations & Theses
Online Reference Resources
Your first stop for basic information on a subject
Awards and Medals
Web Resources
Here are some basic sites to find relevant information. Government and educational sites are the most reliable sites. Check out the Evaluating Resources page for how to find reliable websites.
Internet Public Library: Literary Criticism This site contains links to 1500+ critical and biographical Web sites about British and American authors from the middle ages to the present.
Carol Hurst's Children Literature Site This site includes reviews of children's literature, information on authors and illustrators, and curriculum/literature connections.
The Children's Literature Web Guide This guide attempts to gather and organize a growing number of Internet resources related to books for children and young adults.
Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature Developed by librarian Lisa R. Bartle, this is a searchable database of all kinds of awards for children's literature.
ABC-Lit: An Index to Children's Literature Scholarship For those interested in the theories and criticism used to analyze children's literature, this annotated index will guide you to new resources.
Children’s Literature These pages, developed by Kay Vandergrift, a professor of children’s literature at Rutgers School of Communication, Information and Library Studies, offer a useful overview of the history of children’s literature and link to extensive bibliographies and other resources that she has compiled.
ALA Resources for Parents, Teens and Kids Divided into categories for kids, teens, parents and families. Includes award winning children's book lists as well as recommended items in other formats. Developed by the American Library Association.
Associations
Modern Language Association (MLA) A non-profit organization that promotes the study and teaching of language and literature.
The Association of Writers and Writing Programs fosters literary talent and achievement to advance the art of writing as essential to a good education, and to serve the makers, teachers, students, and readers of contemporary writing.
American Association of School Librarians (AASL). This is the Web site for AASL, a division of the ALA for school librarians and school library media specialists. Included are conference and event information, the new national guidelines and standards, professional materials for handling book and material challenges, resources on Internet filtering, and AASL mission and position statements.
ALSC Resources Page The Association for Library Services to Children division of the ALA provides recommended book lists, links to online children's libraries, resources for children's librarians, and more.
Comments (0)
You don't have permission to comment on this page.