Anthropology and Ethnography
Library Databases & Resources
Anthropology Databases
General Databases
Reference Resources
Book Reviews
Newspapers
Dissertations & Theses
Online Reference Resources
Your first stop for basic information on a subject
Anthropological Index of the Royal Anthropological Institute is based on the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at the
The British Museum which receives periodicals in all branches of anthropology, from academic institutions and publishers around the world.
Ethnologue An encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,912 known living languages. Contains about 31,000 searchable references to books, journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and other academic papers about lesser-known languages and cultures.
Anthropology Review Database: A database of reviews of anthropological resources (books, films, video, software, multimedia, and internet).
WWW Virtual Library: Anthropology
Web Resources
Here are some basic sites to find relevant information. Government and educational sites are the most reliable sites. Check out the Evaluating Resources page for how to find reliable websites.
Ethnographic Resources related to Folklore, Anthropology, Ethnomusicology, and the Humanities Library of Congress collection of websites, directories, programs, museums, and other links related to Ethnography.
Bubl Link: Internet Resources in Ethnography Contains links to Internet resources on African-American, Latino(a), ethnic, and gender ethnographies.
Ancient Mesoamerican Civilizations: Information on writing systems, governments, religions, the calendar, and more of the Maya, Mixtec, Zapotec, and Aztec.
African American Heritage and Ethnography is a self-paced learning resource or course jointly sponsored by the Park Ethnography Program and the Cultural Resources Stewardship Careers Program. It complements and supplements training courses these programs traditionally sponsor for the education of National Park Service staff, the public and community partners.
Documentary Educational Resources Documentary Educational Resources is a non-profit organization that produces and distributes cross-cultural documentary film for educational use. The website provides information about the ethnographic and documentary films, information about the organization, services and resources on documentary filmmaking.
Ethnobase is a web resource for ethnographic approaches to studying Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs). The site includes a searchable database of researchers and research projects, a searchable bibliography, and links to resources.
EMuseum Multimedia cultural museum exhibits on anthropology and different cultures. Links to anthropological theories and exhibits on physical, cultural, applied, and general anthropology.
eCulturalResources Current news related to cultural resource management, ethnography, and historical preservation
World Values Survey Provides detailed data on political, social, and cultural values and beliefs of over 80 societies worldwide since 1981
Associations
Comments (0)
You don't have permission to comment on this page.